Level 2: COVEN

Lisa Benjamin
  • Reading Level 2
  • Ages 11 - 18+
  • Grades / Interest Level 6 - 12
  • Genre Fantasy
  • Lexile Level 270 - 300
  • Word Usage 1,200 most frequent words
  • Product Code SERIES ( MR #065838 )
Teenage Witches in the Shadow Lands

Coven is the second set of five stories in the Shadow Lands multi-reading-level series, for struggling or reluctant readers in middle school and high school who need more practice with commonly used vocabulary.   There are five stories at this level available as individual 48-page books or all in one book (The Collection).
The Coven Stories
Jane, Grady, Tamsin, James, and Emily are witches. They meet at Coven House to practice magic, and to stay safe, and keep others safe from the Dark Ones. The Dark Ones are witches, too. They want power, and they will do anything to get it.
Emily - Emily is surprised to learn she's a witch. When she meets the Coven, she accidentally puts them all in great danger.
Lexile: 270
James - James loves animals and can hear their thoughts. When an unusual egg hatches into a dragon, James must use his skills to save its life.
Lexile: 300
Grady - Grady's parents forbid him to practice magic. Then a deadly secret from the past threatens his family, and Grady must take action.
Lexile: 290
Jane - A witch named Kayla is being chased by Dark Ones. It's up to Jane to keep Kayla safe, along with the dangerous spell book Kayla carries.
Lexile: 280
Tamsin - When Tamsin wakes up from a nightmare, her twin brother, James, is there to help. But can Tamsin help James when terrible things start happening to him?
Lexile: 280

Shadow Lands <show description>